Join our Mailing List


Southern Crescent Symphony Orchestra
Richard Bell, conductor

$10 Adults / $5 Students

The Southern Crescent Symphony and the Clayton State University Orchestra perform the Afro-American Symphony by William Grant Still.  This work, written in 1930, is the first published symphony by an African-American composer and also the first to be performed by a major symphony orchestra.  The concert also includes the Symphony No. 1 by Robert Schumann.  The program begins at 7:30 Tuesday, Feb. 24, in Spivey Hall.

Educators and non-Clayton State students are eligible for a 50% ticket discount by calling the Spivey Hall Box Office at (678) 466-4200.

Admission is free for Clayton State faculty and students with LakerCard I.D.

Presented by the Department of Visual and Performing Arts/Division of Music

Admissions Policy

No one under the age of 12 is admitted to Spivey Hall concerts, unless the concert is specifically designated as being appropriate for younger children. Click here to learn more about Spivey Hall's Young People's Concerts for children in grades Pre-K through 12.

Spivey Hall Forthcoming Performances